Outer Banks News and Weather

Outer Banks News and Weather Alerts Are Sponsored By:




Chambers Announces Leadership OBX Charter Class


The Outer Banks Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce the Charter Class of Leadership OBX.  The Leadership OBX program is sponsored by the Outer Banks Community Foundation, the Outer Banks Hospital, and the Create the Future Initiative (CFI). 


Selected to participate in this year’s program are:


Matt Austin, Towne Bank

Patricia Broom, Phoenix Restoration

Carol Ann Brown, PNC Bank

Jim Brown, individual member

Karen Brown, Outer Banks Chamber of Commerce

Michelle Brown, Wells Fargo Bank

Dick Campbell, DWM Advisors

Jackie Chunn, Southern Insurance

Melanie Corprew, Dare County Department of Health & Human Services

David Daniels, Dare County Regional Airport

Talmage Davis, Outer Banks Beach Rentals & Sales

Carole Emerson, Children at Play

Susan Flythe, Cape Hatteras Electric Cooperative

John Garner, First South Bank

Terry Gore, Sun Realty

Teri Hannell, Malvin Riggins

Ryan Henderson, Outer Banks YMCA

Sherri May, Workforce and Continuing Education at COA

Lynne Miles, Vidant Medical Group

Amy Montgomery, Outer Banks Hospital

Claudia Neal, Mano al Hermano

Lilliana Noble, Mano al Hermano

Mike Remige, Jennette’s Pier

Brandi Rheubottom, Dare County Older Adult Services

Amanda Hooper Walters, Small Business Counseling/Tax Preparation

Larry Warner, North Carolina Aquarium on Roanoke Island

Ray Meiggs, Whalehead at Historic Corolla (scholarship request)


Through the generosity of our sponsors several scholarships were awarded.  The Outer Banks Community Foundation presented two non-profit scholarships to Claudia Neal (Mano al Hermano) and Carole Dawn Emerson (Children at Play Museum); The Outer Banks Hospital and CFI presented scholarships to Dick Campbell (DWM Advisors), Talmage Davis (Outer Banks Beach Rentals & Sales), Ryan Henderson (Outer Banks Family YMCA), Sherri May (Workforce Development & Continuing Education at COA), and Ray Meiggs (Whalehead at Historic Corolla).

Leadership OBX provides leadership minded individuals with the opportunity to: experience the community from public, business and individual perspectives, develop interest in the future of the Outer Banks region, create an environment to inspire community leadership, broaden community viewpoints, builds leadership skills, builds working relationships among class members, provides for personal growth and development, establishing a sense of community and enthusiastic leadership are cornerstones of the program.

Goal Statement for the Program is “To Enlighten, Educate and Engage future and current leaders of the Outer Banks Community.”   Those interested in additional information can contact Karen Brown at (252)441-8144.