2017 Award Winners

These awards were presented at the 43rd Annual Meeting and Awards Celebration, held October 10, 2017 at Roanoke Island Festival Park.

2017 For the Love of the OBX

Lynn S. Bryant (posthumously)
   Lynn's husband, Dick and Tom Murphy received the award on behalf of Lynn Bryant

The Outer Banks Chamber of Commerce and title sponsor, First National Bank were pleased to announce first winner of the "For the Love of the OBX" Award (formerly called the Citizen of the Year award). The award is a life-long achievement award acknowledging a passion for the Outer Banks and its people. This award recognizes excellence in character and passion for the Outer Banks.

This year’s recipient of the Outer Banks Chamber of Commerce “For the Love of the OBX” is being posthumously awarded to Lynn Bryant. Lynn’s dedication to the community is a testament to her love of this place we all call home. 

Lynn S. Bryant, former Executive Director of The Outer Banks Hotline, had a passion to leave the world better than she found it, to make a difference and to assist and empower others. She did make a difference at The Hotline and also with her work to bring the Coastal Studies Institute to the Outer Banks and with her teaching of Psychology at the College of the Albemarle.


2017 Non-Profit of the Year Award

Outer Banks Woman's Club

This year’s Non-Profit of the Year recipient is a local organization who works behind the scenes to assist many in the community. Founded in 1971 this organization has assisted with many projects in our community including the Children at Play Museum, Outer Banks Hotline, NC Aquarium on Roanoke Island Star Center, the Outer Banks Seafood Festival and more. They are recognized most often for the work they do with the Angel Gift Program.

Now in its 30th year this program was initiated in 1987 as a partnership between the Dare County Department of Social Services and the Outer Banks Woman’s Club. Each year in late October, families may apply for this program through the Dare County Department of Social Services. Club members then hold an interview with parents or guardians in order to list specific toys and clothing each child desires.

Members of the community one or more children and purchase their wish list items. Each paper angel lists a small portion of requests from each child’s wish list. The gifts and donations are sorted and delivered to the children in early December to insure a Happy Holiday season!


2017 Member of the Year

Cape Hatteras Electric Cooperative

  Laura Ertle received the Member of the Year Award on behalf of Cape Hatteras Electric Cooperative

The Member of the Year Award is typically presented to recognize a member who has gone above and beyond for the Chamber over the past year. This year is a bit different.

The Outer Banks is located in an ever-changing environment, one that can change in an instant. Most Outer Bankers will tell you if you don’t like the weather wait 10 minutes and it will change. Our business community is often challenged by the elements and the fragile state of our islands. This year one business demonstrated the true meaning of “community first” and teamwork.  Cape Hatteras Electric Cooperative had one of the most unexpected challenges this year when the main electric cable for Hatteras and Ocracoke Islands was accidentally cut; this event presented catastrophic impacts to our Hatteras and Ocracoke Island businesses and communities.  Initial reports were that this would take weeks or even months before it could be repaired.  Cape Hatteras Electric Cooperative came up with a plan and curse of action and worked with their partners to have the islands back and fully operational within 9 days of the outage. 

We could not be prouder to have a member like Cape Hatteras Electric Cooperative as a member of our Chamber.

2017 Director of the Year

Pat Broom and Bob Peele

The Director of the Year Award is presented in recognition of a member of the Board of Directors that the Chairman of the Board feels went above and beyond for the chamber over the past year. This year we have two recipients for this award as well.  Both were outstanding members of the board and helped bring the chamber to a higher standing in a couple of areas.

Our first recipient is Pat Broom. Pat has chaired the Government Affairs committee for the past couple of years. Under her leadership the committee has stayed on top of issues and legislation affecting our area. The Chamber is a founding partner of BAPAC, Business Alliance to Protect the Atlantic Coast; Pat traveled to Myrtle Beach for the first meeting of this group and has since traveled to Washington DC to advocate against off-shore drilling. She has also been an active participant in our efforts to keep the Plastic Bag Ban in place as well as advocating for our commercial fishing community in Raleigh. 

Our second recipient is Bob Peele.  Bob has been chairing the Economic Sustainability committee for a number of years.  Under his leadership this effort has resulted in the chamber implementing a Business Retention & Expansion program which helps us to stay in tune with the local business community and any workforce expansion or business expansion plans.  The Chamber also encouraged the county to consider an economic development strategy and through that exercise the chamber has recently been contracted by Dare County to handle economic development.  


2017 Volunteer of the Year

Ray Dewey and Talmadge Davis

The Outer Banks Chamber of Commerce is fortunate to have many wonderful members and volunteers who give of their time and talents to ensure the success of our events and programs. The Volunteer of the Year Award is sponsored by Pepsi and recognizes a member volunteer who continuously goes above and beyond for the chamber.

This year two volunteers stood out for their efforts.  Both of these recipients took the time to attend the majority of ribbon cuttings, regularly attended and helped out at networking events, and referred new members to the chamber.  Both of these individuals were key contributors to the success of several of our larger fundraising events this year including the Reverse Raffle, Member Social and Golf Tournament.  While there are many who could receive this award, this year we were happy to present the 2017 Volunteer of the Year Awards to Ray Dewey and Talmage Davis. 


Back to top